First quote:

I think that I believe that marriage should be between a man and a woman, no offense to anybody out there. But that’s how I was raised and I believe that it should be between a man and a woman.

Second quote:

Marriage is between a man and a woman.

The first quote is by Carrie Prejean, aka Miss California. The second one is by Barack Obama. Prejean was criticized relentlessly (and equally praised by conservatives) for essentially saying: ‘marriage’ is between a man and a woman. Obama says essentially the same thing – and chooses a priest who likened homosexuality to incest and pedophilia to speak at his inaugural address – and there isn’t quite as big of a media storm about it. I’m not sure what Prejean’s views are regarding civil unions (I know Obama is in favor of them).

A lot of the LGBT crowd has been upset about Obama’s unfulfilled promises regarding things like DOMA or gay marriage. But why wasn’t he chastised by the rest of the progressive crowd for saying that homosexuals shouldn’t have the same title given to their couples-benefits?

